H-DOX is certified as a complete EHR system. This means all of our subscribers are guaranteed to qualify for the EHR stimulus money when using the H-DOX system. H-DOX subscribers receive free help in EHR stimulus services. Our trained experts guide our subscribers through the maze of qualifications. The reward is the collection of the stimulus checks.
What are EHR Incentives? What is HITECH Act?
On February 17, 2009, President Obama signed the American Reinvestment and Recovery Act (ARRA). Included in the ARRA is the 2011 Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health Act (HITECH).
According to the Act, physicians are eligible to receive up to $44,000 in total incentives per physician from Medicare for meaningful use of a certified Electronic Health Record (EHR) starting in 2011. (Note: Physicians reimbursed by Medicaid can receive up to approximately $63,750 starting in 2011 based on state-defined guidelines.)
Are the HITECH incentives paid per physician or per medical practice?
HITECH incentives are paid per provider using a certified EHR system. As an example, a practice with one physician and one nurse practitioner using an EHR could qualify for $88,000 in Medicare incentives.
When does the incentive program begin?
  • Participation can begin as early as 2011.
  • To get the maximum incentive payment, Medicare eligible professionals must begin participation by 2012.
  • Incentive payments for eligible hospitals and CAHs may begin as early as 2011 and are based on a number of factors, beginning with a $2 million base payment.
  • Medicare vs. Medicaid

  • Eligible professionals can receive up to $44,000 over five years under the Medicare EHR Incentive Program. There's an additional incentive for eligible professionals who provide services in a Health Professional Shortage Area (HSPA).
  • Note: For 2015 and later, Medicare eligible professionals, eligible hospitals, and CAHs that do not successfully demonstrate meaningful use will have a penalty or payment adjustment in their Medicare reimbursement.
  • What is a certified EHR?
    For the purposes of the Medicare and Medicaid Incentive Programs, eligible professionals, eligible hospitals and critical access hospitals (CAHs) must use certified EHR technology.
    Certified EHR technology gives assurance to purchasers and other users that an EHR system or module offers the necessary technological capability, functionality, and security to help them meet the meaningful use criteria. Certification also helps providers and patients to be confident that the electronic health IT products and systems they use are secure, can maintain data confidentially, and can work with other systems to share information. For more information about which EHR systems and modules are certified for the Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive program, please visit http://healthit.hhs.gov/.
    What is the difference between complete EHR certification, and modular EHR certification?
    - Complete EHR

    A complete EHR is EHR technology that has been developed to meet all applicable certification criteria. A complete EHR is a single EHR system that meets every certification criteria without the need for add-on applications. The vendor of a complete EHR system will be responsible for completing necessary tasks to achieve certification. It is likely that most professionals who meet meaningful use in 2011 and 2012 will have selected an EHR that has met complete EHR certification criteria.
    - EHR Module

    An EHR module is any service, component, or combination thereof that can meet the requirements of at least one certification criterion. A professional can use a combination of individual modules to create their own complete EHR. As certification criteria expand, it is likely that these professionals will need to add additional modules from different vendors to continue meeting meaningful use criteria. Importantly, professionals need to ensure that their individual EHR modules are certified and that the combination of their modules covers all certification criteria. While individual EHR modules are certified, the combination of modules is not certified. So, it is the professionalís responsibility to perform a modular EHR 'gap analysis' to ensure they meet all current certification criteria.
    What is Meaningful Use?
    Meaningful Use is the phrase that was created as an umbrella term that refers to a set of 20 criteria that medical providers must meet in order to prove that they are using their EMR as an effective tool in their practice.

    Meaningful Use consists of 15 core criteria that providers must complete in order to qualify for $44,000 or more in Electronic Health Record (EHR) incentives. There are 10 additional criteria that are considered "a la carte" menu items, from which only five need to be demonstrated by the medical provider. In total, each provider must complete 20 Meaningful Use criteria-listed in detail below-to qualify for stimulus payments during phase one of the EHR incentive program.(Click here for details on meaningful use criteria).
    What types of provider qualify for the EHR stimulus?
    The following types of physicians and medical practitioners qualify for EHR stimulus

    Physicians- Doctor Medicine or Osteopathy-M.D or D.O, Doctor of Medicine-M.D or D.O, Doctor of Dental Surgery or Medicine-DDS or DDM, Doctor of Podiatric Medicine, D.P,M, Doctor of optometry-O.D, Doctor of Chiropractic-D.C.

    Medical practitioners- Physician assistant, nurse practitioner, clinical nurse specialist, certified registered nurse anesthetist, certified nurse midwife, clinical social worker, clinical psychologist, registered dietician or nutrition professional.

    Important Dates

    • October 1, 2010 - Reporting year begins for eligible hospitals and CAHs.
    • January 1, 2011 - Reporting year begins for eligible professionals.
    • January 3, 2011 - Registration for the Medicare EHR Incentive Program begins.
    • January 3, 2011 - For Medicaid providers, states may launch their programs if they so choose.
    • April 2011 - Attestation for the Medicare EHR Incentive Program begins.
    • May 2011 - EHR Incentive Payments expected to begin.
    • July 3, 2011 - Last day for eligible hospitals to begin their 90-day reporting period to demonstrate meaningful use for the Medicare EHR Incentive Program.
    • September 30, 2011 - Last day of the federal fiscal year. Reporting year ends for eligible hospitals and CAHs.
    • October 1, 2011 - Last day for eligible professionals to begin their 90-day reporting period for calendar year 2011 for the Medicare EHR Incentive Program.
    • November 30, 2011 - Last day for eligible hospitals and critical access hospitals to register and attest to receive an Incentive Payment for Federal fiscal year (FY) 2011.
    • December 31, 2011 - Reporting year ends for eligible professionals.
    • February 29, 2012 - Last day for eligible professionals to register and attest to receive an Incentive Payment for calendar year (CY) 2011.